I've copied an email below that invites departments to participate in the PULSE Recognition Program.  All interested departments should inquire.  We are particularly interested in recruiting R1s and community colleges to join the program at this time.

We’d like to invite you to participate in our NSF funded project the Partnership for Undergraduate Life Sciences Education (PULSE) Recognition Program.  

 Departments participating in the PULSE Recognition Program will:

  • engage in self-reflection of their programs relative to national best practices in undergraduate life sciences education

  • assess whether departmental practices are leading to changes that align with current best practices in STEM education

  • receive a report detailing strengths and opportunities for improvement

  • receive a rating, (called a PULSE Progression Level) that can be compared to other institutions across the country

  • gain expert insights and advice useful for informing accreditation, program review, or leveraging resources for the program/department.

One participating department stated: “being part of the pilot program provided us an opportunity to gauge our progress thus far; learn more about how to implement more suitable assessment of our students’ abilities and  provide all of our faculty with tools and information for better engagement of students in the classroom.”

We are excited to invite you to participate in this program. The Recognition Program has support through a NSF grant to defray some of the costs for qualifying departments.  Please complete this form to determine grant funding eligibility

To read more about the Recognition Program’s findings, please see the publications in CBE-Life Sciences Education and PLOS One.  If you have questions, please contact Loretta Brancaccio-Taras at ltaras@kbcc.cuny.edu. We look forward to working with your department.

PULSE Recognition Team

Judy Awong-Taylor, Georgia Gwinnett College

Loretta Brancaccio-Taras, CUNY Kingsborough Community College 

Christine Goedhart, University of British Columbia

Cleo Hughes Darden, Morgan State University

Thomas Jack, Dartmouth College

Monica Linden, Brown University

Sara Lindsay, University of Maine

Kate Marley, Doane University

Pamela Pape-Lindstrom, Harford Community College

Marcy Peteroy- Kelly, Pace University

Akif Uzman, University of Houston-Downtown

Michael Wolyniak, Hampden-Sydney College 

Monica Linden, Ph.D.
Sr. Lecturer, Dept. of Neuroscience
Provost's Faculty Teaching Fellow

Brown University
Box GL-N